my 6 favorite free patterns on ravelry

These are my 6 favorite patterns from ravelry, a fantastic treasure trove of a site! You’ll notice that these are all baby-things and accessories, which are fairly quick and doesn’t use a ton of yarn, and those are things that makes me happy with a project. Instant gratification! And maybe some last-minute Christmas-gifts? Well, here they are:

Aviatrix baby hat

Aviatrix baby hat

This is a great little baby-hat. It is a quick knit, with adorable details, and clever construction. All the shaping is done with short-rows, and there is no seaming! I wouldn’t recommend it for the complete novice however, not just because of the short rows, but also because the pattern covers a large range of sizes and yarnweights and can be a little cryptic to decipher.

my ravelry project page | the pattern

Baby Sophisticate

Baby Sophisticate

I *love* this little baby-cardigan. It’s worked top down, with the collar and front button-band worked last (and easily in one single piece). It’s cute, and pretty easy, and.. did I say cute?

my ravelry project page | the pattern

Shifting sands

Shifting sands scarf

This, however, was anything but quick. Not in a bad way, just the slow-and-steady kind. I also used a thin yarn, which made all the cables tiny. Yes, those are hundreds, maybe thousands of cables. But they’re not hard! And this scarf has about the loveliest texture I’ve ever seen.

my blog post | my ravelry project page | the pattern

Robin’s egg blue hat

Robin's Egg Blue Hat

Another quick knit, with a seed stitch brim, and decorative flap with button. This really was fast, and would make a good, easy gift-knit. Check out the pictures of all the hats on the pattern page!

 my ravelry project page | the pattern

Pebble vest

Pebble vest

So cute I can almost not stand it! I haven’t seen this in action, but the buttons on the side and on one of the straps apparently makes it easy to get on and off little wriggling babies. The garter stitch and stockinette stitch combination is lovely, and outside of sewing on buttons, there is only one seam to join!

my blog post | my ravelry project page | the pattern

Cabled watchcap

Part of why I like this hat is the very soft, very fine yarn that I used, but most of all it’s the pattern. It has cables of two different sizes, and the repititon of the cables against the purl background is enough to make it feel interesting, instead of overly symmetrical. It’s just plain pretty!

my blog post | my ravelry project page | the pattern

Shamelessly promoting my own free patterns:

Reversible biking hat

My first attempt at writing a sharing a knitting pattern! It’s a lightweight hat with eyelets, it’s reversible, and pretty easy. I called it a biking hat because John (that’s him in the picture) said it’d be perfect underneath a cycling helmet in the colder months. I’m at three hats made from this pattern now – I’m sure there will be more!

my blog post | my ravelry project page | the pattern

Elvish leaves scarf

And my second free pattern, a lace scarf in fingering weight wool. It has an elegant leaf pattern repeat, and makes for a good intermediate lace project. The thin scarf is perfect for slightly chilly days where you just need that extra little warmth and comfort around your neck!

my blog post | my ravelry project page | the pattern

5 responses to “my 6 favorite free patterns on ravelry

  1. That brown scarf looks amazing. Would you consider posting a close-up of the texture?
    (It seems i´ve taken up knitting again. I´ve gotten a couple of half-done projects down from the attic to see if I can finish them, an, Ups! , bought some yarn for a new project today. I never learn, do I?!!)

  2. Great post, thanks for sharing all these patterns! And I am so glad you liked the cabled watchcap pattern so much. I think I ought to make another for myself!

  3. Pingback: Yarn along update (ravelry red rocks!) « Twyste

Leave a Reply

