Fix it Friday: pants to mini-skirt

Sherry of pattern~scissors~cloth had a “Fix-it-Friday” last week, and I love the idea! I definitely also have a pile of things that needs some fixing and refashioning, and seeing other people tackling their pile in a semi-organized way is a great inspiration to tackle my own!

Mmm, my Bayview Street Cardigan is back in action!

I don’t have any before pictures of these cropped, slightly wide-legged pants before they became a skirt. I rediscovered them while visiting my parents over Christmas, and while I’ve always loved the pinstripes and the soft fabric of the pants, I really wasn’t loving the pants anymore. I bought the pants on a trip to Dublin with my dear friend, so I’m sure the memories I’d attached to the pair made it hard to toss them out!

All the cars driving around was making me a bit nervous – look at my fist  clenched up in a ball!

It was a pretty easy refahion; I unpicked the inseams, and up to the bottom of the fly on the front, and the widest part of my hips on the back. I tried really hard to get a straight line down from those points – but the fly is set in on a curve, so there is some odd stuff going on in the front. It’s not super-noticable, and I’ve decided I’m happy. I mimicked the faux flat-felled seams that was already going on, which is just the seam allowance folded to one side and top-stitched ¼” apart. You can kind of make it out in the close-up above.

It’s a bit on the narrow side, and if I had more patience and/or time I would have put in a vent in the back, so I could stride along uninhibited! Nitpicking aside, I’m super-happy with having a mini-skirt I’ve used several times this week from something I never wore. I’m looking forward to tweaking and tackling more cast-offs from my wardrobe!

6 responses to “Fix it Friday: pants to mini-skirt

  1. Hehe, we must have put our Fix-it Friday posts up about the same time!
    This is a great transformation from pants – I’m sure you’ll wear them more now as a mini-skirt!

  2. Fix it Friday is a nice idea.
    Love your skirt – and in an odd way pleased that you wanted to hold onto something from Dublin because thats my neck of the woods!

    • Oh yeah?! I had such a lovely time there! I’ve even keep random things from that trip in my wallet, like photobooth pictures and a grocery store scan-thing for leeks, haha! Regardless, my trip to Dublin did everything to fuel my desire to go back!

  3. Love it, I’ll use this idea too!

Leave a Reply

