shorts in wintertime

I made myself a pair of shorts a year and a half ago, and they have luckily turned out to be one of the things in my wardrobe that I use the most. The origin for the shorts was a pair of men’s wool trousers that I found at home – I suspect they were thrifted to begin with. The fabric is a wool/polyester blend, and even in summertime they are surprisingly comfortable to wear. So far I haven’t overheated at any time, which is a bit surprising, considering the fabric!

shorts

The shorts are perhaps more remade than they are made from scratch. True to form I didn’t have a pattern for this one – though I did have a tutorial for the zipper fly (they are a little tricky!). Not having a pattern meant that I did a whole lot of basting, trying on, and altering. It probably wouldn’t be too far from the truth if I say it took me five or six tries to get it all done. The side pockets are the original from the men’s trousers, as is the waistband. The waistband was a bit small, so I put in a couple of strips to widen it, conveniently covered by the wide belt loops. On the front of the shorts I added a couple of knife-pleats each between the zipper and the pockets to get some shape and nice roominess to the shorts. Finally, a cuff a couple of inches wide, and it was all done!

shorts_outside

I’m so happy with the shorts that I let it get around, even after summer is long gone. Adding a pair of nice thick tights and some warm boots makes shorts perfectly wearable during the chilly days too!

One response to “shorts in wintertime

  1. Oh dear, sweet brown Winter-Birgitte is back. What a joy!

Leave a Reply

