mittens, done at last

While April is trying to decide between being winter and summer, I can pretend I finished these mittens in the right season.

mittens_speak4

I started them back in December, and over the Christmas break I worked on them a lot – on buses, trains and planes. Well, perhaps mostly while waiting in airports actually. I used the first pair of mittens I made as my pattern, just counting my way on the mittens to get the numbers and stitches right. I’m not even sure I still have a xerox of the original pattern, but I’m no stranger to winging it when making things. Since I changed some patterning as I went along on the first pair, I had to do the same thing here. I also reduced the space between the pattern and the edge-band by one stitch, and that meant some fudging and mathematical tweaking. I won’t point out where, but yes, there are some wonky spots on these mittens.

mittens_see1

The main part of the mittens came together nicely over the Christmas break, but then it just came to a halt. The thumbs has taken me perhaps a couple of hours each to make (including ripping out silly mistakes), but space the making of the thumbs a couple of months apart, and it’s April and I’m making merino wool double layer winter mittens.

mittens_hear1

I comfort myself with the thought that mittens are always useful, and these will wait patiently until the weather turns chilly again. Until then my mittens!

2 responses to “mittens, done at last

  1. I like the subtle colors, they look great on you! And don´t worry about it being April. There will be more winters, they will be cold, and your mittens won´t ever go out of fashion!

  2. Dear daughter of mine,
    congratulations on your new pair of Selbu-mittens! I have a copy of the pattern if you need one…… My mitten is half done in a drawer and has been for a long time. Sigh!

Leave a Reply

