draping fun

I’m taking a draping course, and since we’re still just a few weeks into the semester, we are mostly working on exercises. Bias, cowl, midriff, knits.. we’ll cover them all eventually. Right now we’re doing twists, and I had a lot of fun today playing around with this dusty blue-green-grey silk fabric.

There are several different kinds of twists to be made in garments; some require cutting into the material, some are made up by two rectangles looped and intertwined, and some are made by combining patternpieces at the paper stage, and twisting the fabric piece where they were joined (Karin at Ancien Nouveau shows how).

I tried to include as many twists into this excercise as possible, and it was a lot of fun! It’s also a lot more layered and drapey than what I usually come up with, but at the same time, it’s a look I really really like. Mmmm, I like these fabric play dates!

7 responses to “draping fun

  1. That’s beautiful! You should sell them!

  2. This is so gorgeous! Will you be making these to sell? Please? :-)

    • Thank you! This is made with a very randomly shaped scrap piece of silk, hand sewn together in a couple of places, so… not so wearable, or reproducable, at this point. But perhaps I will come up with something inspired by this exercise, that is put together in a better way and more sellable!

  3. Ooooooh, I envy you! I just realised (reading your post) that it’s probably a draping-class that I should take once I’ve finished paying the overlock off…. or maybe I’ll just get a really good book, now?
    Do you use any good books at school that might work for a teach-yourself-student? Or do you know of any?
    The top is really nice, I especially like the draping on the side of the hip, a bit like petals…

    • Hmmm… That’s a tricky question. I think the concepts of draping aren’t as hard as I thought they would be, so it might be that taking a class (depending on the teacher) would open up a world of possibilities that is hard to get from the books. Then again, it seems like your imagination is just fine, and you have a solid understanding of patternmaking… so maybe starting off with a book would work just fine for you? Our textbook is this one, and I’ve seen this one around school as well. I find that choosing sewing/technical books like these is a lot about personal preference, so if you have a chance to look at a copy at a library or something first, I think that would be the best – to see if it works well with your methods and your way of thinking!

Leave a Reply

