self-stitched-september

Zoe, from “So Zo…” has been the initiator of several sewing-related projects, like Stashbustin’, “Me-Made-March”, and “Me-Made-May”. For the latter projects, she pledged to wear only “me-made” clothing for the months of March and May, and had a community of sewers and seamstresses alongside her, wearing their own homemade garments exclusively or partially, every day, for an entire month.

The next project coming up is “Self-Stitched-September”, and this time, I’m playing along. I snapped some quick pictures of what I have to work with, and this is it:

Hmmm, preferred colors anyone?

I’ve pledged that ‘I, indigorchid (www.indigorchid.wordpress.com), sign up as a participant of Self-Stitched-September. I endeavour to wear handmade and/or refashioned items of clothing every day for the duration of September 2010’. The important thing to me isn’t, and won’t be, to wear *only* self-stitched things in an outfit. I do want to push myself though, and consider the self-stitched garments as the main part of my outfit – the piece I start out with. I also want to make sure I wear every single of these garments at least once during the month of September.

I actually have a couple of more things available to wear, since I’ve finished my boat dress, and a nearly finished Marie-skirt. I’m quite excited for the month of September, and of course I’ll post here on how I’m doing!

P.S. I made a little widget in the sidebar that will pull up all of my Self-Stitched-September posts. As you can see, there are a couple of new projects in the works! (That also means that some of the links don’t lead anywhere – yet!) Also, see the blogroll on the right hand side for the link to Zoe’s original call to self-stitchedness.

3 responses to “self-stitched-september

  1. What a brilliant idea!
    I want to do that too!
    I just have to sew a wardrobe first… :-)

  2. Wow, I’m really impressed by your self-sewn wardrobe. It’s so well coordinated! And still very colourful, makes me want to really try making one myself. I don’t seem to ever make things I actually end up wearing (with a few very big exceptions that I wear ALL the time). Maybe I just have to join Self Stitched September, just to make myself wear them?
    In any case, I’ll try to follow your lead and make a coordinated collection of home-sewn clothes..!

    • Oh, thank you Karin! It really wasn’t planned – I looked at the pictures afterwards and laughed because of how close in color they are. In one way, I feel like I’m not terribly adventurous and stick to the same colors, but then again – they do work well for me!

Leave a Reply

