Eddie and his six incarnations

This was my Eddie Bauer sweater when I had thrifted him, before he turned into six different things:

Eddie is on the bottom. A little submissive and unassuming, you can say.

Then I started to take Eddie apart, and he looked like this:

And now, a digression. There is a traditional folk song in Norwegian called Kråkevisa (text, and youtube-video). I believe it’s a very common song to learn as a kid, and I remember very proudly answering “recycling!” to the question of what this song was about.  In hindsight I think the answer is much closer to “resourcefulness”. You see, there is a farmer, and a giant crow out to kill him. So the farmer shoots the crow (with bow and arrow!) and makes use of the entirety of the bird. He puts up the meat for the winter, then makes shoes, ropes, horns, and of course, from the beak, fashions a boat to go to church in.

The last verse of the song, by the way, goes like this: Og den som kje kråka han nytta så, han er ikkje verd ei kråke å få. — And he who cannot make use of the crow like so, is not worthy to have a crow.

So when Eddie, after being completely disassembled, turned into no less than six new knitted things; a sweater, three hats, a scarf, and a pair of socks, well… He is my crow.

*      *      *

1. A sweater.


And not any old sweater – my first ever! And for my boyfriend. Who is still my boyfriend (take that sweater curse!). Blogged here, ravelry link, Pattern is Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Seamless hybrid sweater.

2. Socks

Another first – first toe-up socks! As the first, second, and next pictures show, there was some light grey yarn in the sweater, which was pretty textured, and as far as I could tell, spun with some sort of nylon-thread. Perfect for socks! (Ahem.. the socks in this household acquire holes pretty quickly).

I went with toe-up construction so I could just keep knitting until there was no more of the grey. I knit with a strand of the main yarn, so they were even thicker, more reinforced, and a little more comfortable. I used a mash-up of several different toe-up patterns I found online, I don’t remember how I even did the heel (which was a headache), and I’m not sure I’m a toe-up convert. Even if it was extremely convenient to use up all of that grey yarn.

3. A hat

And not just any hat – my first ever published knitting pattern (hat)! Hop on over to this blog post introducing the Reversible Biking hat, and here is the ravelry link (38 projects so far – woo!).

4. A baby hat

(Photo by Rogue Sheep)

And not just any baby hat, my first ever baby hat! Just to clarify, the hat in the picture is not the hat I made. I don’t actually have a picture of the hat that I made, but this unbelievably cute hat is made with the same pattern, the Aviatrix baby hat.

5. Another hat

I’ve run out of first. This was just a hat, enjoyably knitted for a friend. Blog post,  and raverly link to the pattern.

And finally…

6. A scarf

This is the Shifting sand scarf I recently posted about, and it’s making itself into my wintertime staples! What was great about this scarf, was that I could keep knitting up everything that was left after all these other projects were done. There is rarely a limit to how long a functional scarf could be, so it became my leftover yarn scarf! It also took me more than a year to knit this… but I blame in on waiting on all these other projects! Blog post, and ravelry link.

*      *      *

Thanks Eddie, you’ve been a dear.

5 responses to “Eddie and his six incarnations

  1. You and your ingenuity is well worth Kråkevisa! :-)
    Lovely soft stuff!

  2. Wow! You made quite a bit from that sweater and it all looks good!

  3. Thanks guys! I was really surprised at how much yarn (and projects!) I got out of that one sweater!

  4. I’m a bit more tempted to thrift yarn shop after seeing how beautifully all your projects came out…the only time I’ve seen a person unravel a thrift sweater it was so laborious that I kind of crossed that activity off my list. Thanks for sharing (this, and your blog in general.)

    • Oh, thank you Laura, that’s kind! I have to say, picking the right kind of sweater is half the battle! Stay away from mohair, angora, and other fibers that are fuzzy and weak. If the wool has felted, it’s a goner. This sweater was a cotton/wool blend, and that really helped in terms of the yarn cooperating! Also, there is a very nice tutorial here on how to take the sweater apart at the seams!

      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

