a new cover for the chair

I got my hands on a sewing machine, and this is what I made!


I have tons of stuff in progress; already made, about to be finished, tutorials, some patterns… but I’ve also wrapped up a BFA and graduated, so time to sort through pictures and projects and write posts has been really limited lately, at best. However! When I get to borrow my super-lovely neighbours sewing machine while mine is in deep pre-cross-Atlantic-move-storage, I certainly have to work on some projects, and this is one that required minimal time and effort.

I recovered the seat, oh, something like two years ago, but possibly scarred by the trauma of the downstairs (chough-crazy-chough) neighbour in my past apartment pounding on the ceiling while I was recovering it, it has just sat unfinished ever since.

This is what it looked like before, by the way:

I finally got around to drape the rest of the pieces on there, mark and cut, and stitch it up quickly. The fabric covering the seat is staple-gunned on top of the previous cover, and the back-rest is a slipcover with the underside just whipstitched in place.


I think with the light-colored fabric, it would have been fun to stain or paint the woodwork a dramatic, dark color. I never got around to it – perhaps whoever has it next will!

It’s so satisfying to get stuff out of the to-do pile, even if it’s just in time to sell it before we move!

4 responses to “a new cover for the chair

  1. It looks lovely! And it´s so much to re-upholster chairs!
    And your moving back to Norway?! Great! Norway needs you!!!

    • I need Norway too! ;) I have a book at home about the *real* way to re-upholster chairs – down to the springs and batting and everything, and I can’t wait to give that a go next!

  2. I am thinking of undertaking a major reupolstery project this summer as well…..its this hideous green chair, but the shape of it is really nice! Any tips?

    • Ooo, how fun! I’d check out some books from the library! I know you’ll need a staplegun and those little pretty nails and batting, but I’ve honestly not done serious upholstery work like that – though I’d love to at one point! John’s mom has some pictures of the process when she did some furniture work: http://colleensprojects.wordpress.com/furniture/

      Can’t wait to see it Julia! Sounds like a great summer project! Not to mention the other things you’re up to!

Leave a Reply

