2012

It’s almost inevitable to spend the end-of-the-year holidays reflecting on the year you’re leaving behind, and the one you’re approaching. 2011 has been all over the place for me; I completed my fashion design bachelor in May, I left Chicago behind to go on a three-month road-trip/camping-trip, and I moved back to Norway in August. I’ve been living without most of my belongings since leaving Chicago (they’re on their way, but goodness – several months overdue!), so settling in hasn’t been quite complete yet. With this year of adventure and nomadic living behind me, I am hoping for settling in 2012. I’m want to have all my belongings in one place again, and I’m looking forward to some measure of routine!

                           

And for a peak back at what I’ve made this past year – look at that! I think I have some colors I keep coming back to! ;) I’m quite surprised that I’ve knit more items than I’ve sewn this year, but I think the work on the collection skews that – I mean, does one tailored, fully lined coat equal one knit baby hat? I think perhaps not! But that collection has definitely ruled my sewing world this year.

What’s in store for 2012 then? I want to sew more for me. Sewing school-projects has been a ton of fun, especially going through the process of drafting and fitting patterns before sewing the actual garments. But they weren’t necessarily for me! There is a backlog of things I’ve been wanting to sew, and now is the time. For example, I have a Beignet skirt high on my list, and I’ll be doing Tasia’s sew-along for the Minoru jacket now in January.

There are most things still from my fall pallette challenge to sew, like jeans, pencilskirts, blouses, and dresses. I want to do a detailed series on tailoring jackets, and I have a handful of my own designs I’ll be making as well.

Most excitingly, I’ve been working behind the scenes on a line of sewing patterns! I’m still working hard on them, and will be starting small with just one pattern at a time. I’d love your help though, so if you’d like to be a pattern tester, follow this link to my pattern tester survey! Everybody is welcome, I’m hoping to have the first pattern ready for testing early spring.

I’m looking forward to this year, and I hope everybody else is too! Now, if only my fabrics, patterns, and tools could arrive so I could get started sewing again!

10 responses to “2012

  1. Woah heck yes girl! I am so excited for your 2012 as you well know. You are so profesh it’s making me feel guilty. Hopefully your belongings find you quickly and you can get out of your holding pattern and get on with things. Happy New Year Birgitte!

    • Hey Jen! So – I *just* got an email saying our stuff has left for Bergen, and I’m really hoping that means it’s here and unpacked in a couple of days, so excited!

      Happy New Year to you too, I think this will be a good one! ;)

  2. Happy new year – I hope you can get on with your sewing soon! I’ve not spent much time sewing in the past but you’ve inspired me to try one day.

    • Thank you Polo! And best of luck with your sweater-knitting this year! Other than being larger, it really isn’t more difficult than other projects. Looking forward to seeing your knitting this year!

  3. I’ve followed your lovely blog for a while but this is my first comment. All the best for this new year. I’m very excited to hear about your pattern line! I’m loving the wonderful patterns that independent designers are producing. I’m also looking forward to seeing your completed fall palette challenge, those colours are divine!

  4. I’m doing the Minoru sewalong too! WOW – congrats on your pattern line! So excited for you!!!!

    • I can’t wait! I’ll be so exciting to see everyone’s versions! I’m tossing my fabric in the wash tomorrow to coat it with rain-repelling magic stuff too, so that’s fun!

      And thank you – I’ve been thinking about this for a while, but putting it out there is a little intimidating and nerve-wrecking! (but fun!)

  5. wow exciting plans!
    i hope you start to feel more settled – i know i hate feeling all up in the air.
    filled in your survey, would be delighted to offer assistance :-)

    • Great – thank you so much! And the settling is starting to happen. Yesterday we got up a shelf for my sewing stuff, so my little sewing corner is coming together!

Leave a Reply

