tiny pocket tanks

I made myself another tiny pocket tank! I loved the first one so much and found it so versatile, I knew I just had to make another as soon as possible. And I did, and just now got around to getting the man to take some pictures of me wearing it. It’s gotten tons of wear, just like the first, printed one – I’m finding it a definite staple in my wardrobe, and I especially like the shape of it – the neckline shape, the shape of the straps, the shape of the hem, et cetera. Staple I tell you, staple!

Remember Me-Made-May? The printed tiny pocket tank was by far the self-made garment I wore the most:

For being a graphic, tribal-looking print, I’ve found lots of uses for it! It’s a bit out of my comfort zone to have patterned clothes, but I think since the shape is so simple, it works really well as building block.

And can we talk about this jacket for a little bit (which pairs really well with the tanks, as both of the pictures above proves)? I’ve always admired the way people like Kendi of Kendi Everyday or E. of defunct but awesome Academichic wears blazers with anything and look smashing. I’ve come to realize that while the traditional blazer-shape doesn’t necessarily work for me, this seersucker- like, 3/4 sleeve, collarless jacket in fact, does. It’s structured without being stuffy, and dressy without being serious. And, it takes a perfectly basic (albeit a very well-shaped basic) tank top up a notch if I need it, and that I approve of.

Now, I think perhaps the next tiny pocket tank will have an actual tiny pocket on it. Maybe a nice, matte silk would be nice? Ooo, yes I think so!

11 responses to “tiny pocket tanks

  1. Ooh, love that blazer (and your new tiny pocket tank)! It’s a good compromise between the structured blazer and a softer cardi. I completely agree that a well styled blazer looks great. I have been missing one since retiring my old one a couple of years ago. I loved it but for some reason the fabric had a bit of stretch in it, so over the years it lost its shape. I find blazers in shops often have shoulders that are too wide, plus I’m trying not to buy clothes these days – how difficult do you think it would be to sew one..?

    • Hey! I think if you skip some harder detailing (welt pockets for example, if you’ve never made one), a blazer is totally doable to sew! I think the hard part is getting the fit right… But if you still have the old one, perhaps you could sacrifice it and use it as a pattern to replicate? Otherwise, I’d plan for at least one muslin to fit. Also, Jen over at Grainline Studio has an excellent tutorial on lining jackets/blazers – definitely check that one out! Let me know how it goes!

      P.S. Love the colors from the leftover yarn… mmm, mustard and greys together!

      • Thanks for the Grainline link for lining jackets. Perhaps I’ll add a blazer of some description to the ever growing list of things I want to sew (I did keep the old one as I just didn’t want to part with it so I could definitely sacrifice it for a pattern). I may get round to it eventually… :)

      • I know, that list is never empty! I don’t know if I should be embarrassed that I still have projects that are 5+ years old on that list? ;)

  2. I really like both your tiny pocket tanks and it’s great to hear how versatile they are. It’s my next make – pattern printed off and cut out, just waiting for some time to get sewing!
    I’m with you on the blazer/smart jacket front – they go with anything and it always makes me feel quite put-together and smart, even just worn with jeans. The fabric of yours looks lovely!

    • Thank you! The jacket is like a seersucker, but not really, and the stripes are pretty thin, so it’s a nice neutral but still with some pop.

      I’ve really enjoyed making the tiny pocket tanks – and they are quick projects to boot!

  3. I just finished my first tiny pocket tank! I just need to get some pictures so I get the review up on my blog. Love the silkiness of your fabric choice. By the way, it was your first one that inspired me to buy the pattern. I was wondering, I searched but I can’t find a post on actually making that seersucker blazer but I know you made it, right?

    • Ooh, that’s great! Can’t wait to see pictures! (I’m sure Jen would love to see them in her flickr pool too, if you’re so inclined!)

      Actually, I did not make the seersucker blazer, though I wish I did. It was a great consignment store find, and being stripes it was a bit outside my comfort level, but my goodness how versitile it’s been! It’s been a great way to reinforce what types of necklines and styles work for me too.

  4. I just made up a couple of these babies myself and totally agree – the tiny pocket tank is so versatile that it’s a fantastic building block for a wardrobe. Not sure I’m experienced enough to put together a blazer/jacket yet but I did get more fabric today to make a few more tanks! I made one as a gift and blogged about it and now every time I see the pic I get tank envy – I can’t find that fabric anymore but I’m hoping the soon-to-be-made tanks make up for it :)

    • I know, great building blocks! I’m planning a silk one next I think, it’ll be good to have a dressier one. I keep planning outfits for imaginary art gallery openings, and a silk tiny pocket tank with some skinny jeans and cool shoes would be a good art gallery outfit. Maybe I should start going to some, haha!

  5. Pingback: Sew + Tell | Birgitte of Indigorchid | grainline

Leave a Reply

