watercolor hemlock

watercolor_hemlock4

Alright, moving along with my recent photoshoot pictures! This is a Hemlock tee that I finished last week. I made one this spring that I’ve worn a lot, currently out of commission because of a grease stain… Anyone have suggestions for grease stains that have been sitting for a while, or through the tumble drier? Dish soap did not do the trick!

Fabric: Viscose jersey from Stoff og Stil, unfortunately not on their website.
Pattern: Hemlock Tee from Jen at Grainline studio.
Techniques: Jersey fabric, neck binding, serged seams.

watercolor_hemlock2

I tried something a little different with this version, which I mentioned in the previous Hemlock-post. I narrowed the neckline by maybe 1″, and narrowed and shortened the sleeves as well. I was trying to make the fit just a little less casual, but I think the success of the fit is quite dependent on the casual details! I also did shorten the neckline band past the usual recommended 85%, since this fabric is extremely drapey, and the previous Hemlock neckline didn’t lie quite flat I think from not being short enough. I guess I overdid it a bit – this neckband pulls and makes the neckline significantly smaller than it was without. I feel like Goldilocks – the first was too big, the second too small – the third will be perfect!

watercolor_hemlock

The fabric is a little unusual for me, but I’m working on getting comfortable with prints and… well, non-solids. I really like the color of this watercolor-psychology-ink-blot-test-pattern – it’s kind of fun! I’ve lost the little sticker with the info, but I’m pretty sure this is a viscose jersey. It’s the drapiest I’ve ever handled – seriously, it was like sewing with water solidified.

watercolor_hemlock3

Next up I think will be the kimono/robe I’m making from fabric I bought in London at the recent Goldhawk Road meet-up! I’m almost done, so then it’s just a matter of getting pictures taken. I’m of course having the same issue as the rest of the bloggers in the northern hemisphere – freezing temperatures and lack of daylight. I will find a solution!

6 thoughts on “watercolor hemlock”

    1. Ooo, I’d like to be effortless but cool! Good thing I’m wearing this shirt almost every other day then! ;) The fabric shop I think is getting better – or, it’s getting better at *also* stocking trendier fabrics. I think it’s all their own fabrics? I’ve never seen fabrics being from a particular designer. They do a catalogue mail-order service (which I’ve used almost as much as I used to order clothes from the H&M catalogues in high school!), but I’m fortunately close enough now to go into one of the stores to fondle the fabrics directly, hehe!

  1. Cute tee! I found your blog through a link from Lladybird.

    To cure old grease stains on tees: Run the stain through steaming hot water under the faucet to open up the fibers. Then use a couple shots of Simple Green which can be found on the car care aisle of the grocery store. Then a couple shots of Shout. Scrub with a stiff bristle brush and launder as usual. Works every time!

    1. Hey Becky – welcome, and thanks for stopping by!

      Wow, thanks for the tip – I will look into if we have something similar to Simple Green here in Norway! I know the chemistry is roughly “apply something that breaks up grease”, haha, but finding exactly which products that works can be tricky!

Leave a Reply

