sewing-themed charms necklace

I have to confess – I’m not crazy about charms bracelets. It’s not the charms I don’t like, I’m just not a bracelet person when it comes to jewellery! I find them often just being in the way, I guess in the same way sleeves can be – more often than not I push my sleeves up to the elbow. I feel like I’m more concentrated and ready to work then.

DSC_0360

Anyways! I got a charms bracelet from John’s mom a few years ago, and being sewing themed, the charms were adorable. I just had to find a way to display them that worked better for me! I had a vision of a necklace with a sort of bar with rings on it. I looked and looked, and finally came across TexasBeadz on Etsy, who has lots of jewellery making supplies, and was able to custom order the antique silver color I was hoping to find. It doesn’t look like she has the same item listed anymore (and I’ve already forgotten what the jewellery world term for this bar-thingy is! Anyone know? Please share if you do!), but the owner was very lovely and nice to work with so I wanted to mention her store.

2015-02-08-16.32.26

I bought a set of jewellery rings from my local crafts store, and spent 10 minutes getting the charms on the bar. So now have a necklace with a sewing machine, ruler, scissor and iron on it! I’m not quite sure what the cog-looking thing is supposed to be, but it’s cute. The third charm from the left is a small freebie pendant I got to match a pair of earrings I bought through the Norwegian version of Etsy, which is called Epla. The jeweller is Sølvsmykkeriet, and she too had excellent customer service and ended up custom making a pair of earrings for me that I absolutely love. I don’t think I have a close up of those, but they should be in pretty much every post the last year since I hardly ever take them out!

Oh, and happy March everyone! At the moment Bergen is greeting it with heavy, wet snowfall. Isn’t March the first spring month? Anyone else having non-spring-like weather? Or – anyone else itching to start making spring-like things? I definitely am!

6 thoughts on “sewing-themed charms necklace”

  1. Thank you for the Texas Beadz shout out! Love your design!!
    By the way, they are called necklace bars. No fancy name, just plain old bars.
    Keep making beautiful things!
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

