meeting fall in mustard-colored shorts

I love fall. And I love mustard (in color; not so much in condiment).  I’ve posted before on my love of different colors, and I guess a mustard post is overdue now. When it swept into my color-favorites a couple of years ago, I had no idea it would stick around for this long. In fact, it’s becoming somewhat of a staple. I’ve never been terribly comfortable in yellows before, but this muted and richer, more subtle version is just right. I think that is a trend in all my colors: while my yellow-green and turquoise still surround me, they have become more toned down, especially the turquoise that tends to go more towards sea-foam and teals.

So, shorts! They have taken an embarrassingly long time to finish. I bought the fabric as a remnant piece a couple of summers ago, at Z Fabrics in Portland, Maine (oh, such a lovely little store, with beautiful, handpicked and quality things in stock. This was where I first saw oliver + s sewing patterns. They are beyond adorable.)

shorts_full

The pattern is, let’s say, loosely based on Ruby from Burdastyle. I’ve omitted the loose belt, the back pocket, and the cuffs from the original pattern. I also shortened the length, both at the waist and the hem. Those are all personal preferences and fit-alterations, so the shorts still pretty much looks like the original design.

The fabric is the softest corduroy in the loveliest shade of mustard yellow. I used this article a lot as a reference while sewing with this fabric, especially making sure I cut the pieces out correctly. Corduroy has nap that goes in one direction, so it looks different depending on if the nap is going up or down. When it goes down, it’s a little shinier, going up, the fabric looks darker. Therefore, it’s really important to cut out all the pieces in just one direction – unless, of course, that’s an effect you’re going for!

shorts_detailI love the little welt-pocket in the front – it was my first one!

I made the buttonholes at my school, where there is a dedicated button-hole-machine. It’s pretty nifty and automatic, so after the first button-hole is made, it will automatically make the rest the same exact size! They certainly did turn out much better than I think I would have managed with my very manual Bernina.

As much as I like wearing shorts in cooler weather, I think this pair will get lots of wear. And with the grey days ahead, it’s nice to bring some cheeriness into them!

4 thoughts on “meeting fall in mustard-colored shorts”

  1. It could very well be an Australian term- I’ll consult my tailoring books when I get home n let you know! The only difference I know is that the jets/double welts are, well, double, and thinner than regular welts, and they can have a pocket flap inserted (rendering them ‘jet pockets with flaps’ – how technical!)

    I am indeed a fashion student with a costume background (mainly study, a little bit of professional work), it’s lovely to meet someone with similar interests! Thankyou for the computer pattern making sympathies! The program we use is ridiculous, I hope you have a useful one.

    What area in costume are you hoping to get in to? I always adored musical theatre, but there isn’t much work for it in Australia…I’m doing a bit of film stuff atm, but that’s thanks to my boyfriend being a filmmaker haha.

    I very much enjoy reading your blog too! I’d love to hear about what you get up to at uni.

    Cheers,
    Claire

    1. Thanks HarbourMaster! Hmm… I’ve never heard of a jet-pocket before; what is the difference between the two? I only know of these kinds of pockets as welts – single-welt, and double-welt. I’d love to know what a jet-pocket is though! (maybe it’s an Australian term?)

Leave a comment